Trevor Baptiste Named Premier Lacrosse League's Jim Brown MVP


Trevor Baptiste won 70 percent of his faceoffs and controlled 83 ground balls.

Trevor Baptiste, after one of the best faceoff seasons in Premier Lacrosse League history, was named the league’s Jim Brown MVP Friday night at the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

In nine games this summer, the Atlas LC specialist won 153 of 219 faceoffs (70 percent) with 83 ground balls. He also scored four one-point goals, one two-point goal and dished out four assists, all while turning the ball over just four times.

He twice posted faceoff winning percentages above 80 percent (83 percent against the Cannons on June 11 and 86 percent against the Archers on June 25), and he never posted an individual game below 63 percent.

The Atlas, who lost in the PLL quarterfinals last weekend, led the league at a 63-percent rate and outscored opponents by nine goals, a testament to the possession advantage Baptiste delivered.

Naturally, Baptiste also took home Paul Cantabene Faceoff Athlete of the Year.

Continue below for a full list of winners.


Rookie of the Year: Brendan Nichtern, Chrome
Dave Pietramala Defensive Player of the Year: JT Giles-Harris, Chrome
Eamon McEneaney Attackman of the Year: Lyle Thompson, Cannons
Oren Lyons Goalie of the Year: Kyle Bernlohr, Whipsnakes
Paul Cantabene Faceoff Athlete of the Year: Trevor Baptiste, Atlas
George Boiardi Defensive Midfielder of the Year: Danny Logan, Atlas
Dave Huntley Sportsmanship Award: Eric Law, Atlas
Welles Crowther Humanitarian Award: Lyle Thompson, Cannons
Brodie Merrill Long Stick Midfielder of the Year: Michael Ehrhardt, Whipsnakes
Gait Brothers Midfielder of the Year: Tom Schreiber, Archers
Brendan Looney Leadership Award: Jordan MacIntosh, Chrome
Jimmy Regan Teammate Award: Brodie Merrill, Cannons
Dick Edell Coach of the Year: Tim Soudan, Chrome
Jim Brown MVP: Trevor Baptise, Atlas


Most Recent

Behold the V-Hold: Learn a Pivotal Defensive Skill from PLL Pros

PLL pros drill down on what Garrett Epple calls ‘a defenseman’s greatest asset.’

NLL Announces Largest Schedule in League History

The NLL will play 135 regular season games during the 2022-23 season.

Dillon Ward Adds to Already Impressive Resume with 2nd Pro Title in 90 Days

Ward won a PLL title with the Waterdogs after winning an NLL title with Colorado.

Self Made: Waterdogs Defeat Chaos for PLL Championship

How the PLL's first expansion team captured the crown in just their third season.

Twitter Posts