Premier Lacrosse League Announces 30 Finalist Host Cities


Could Dick's Sporting Goods Park — a Major League Soccer venue in Commerce City, Colo., and site of the 2014 FIL World Championship — be a destination on the PLL’s inaugural 14-week tour? Denver was among 30 finalist host cities announced Thursday.

The Premier Lacrosse League on Thursday announced 30 finalist host cities for its inaugural season.

In choosing these cities (listed below), the PLL considered TV viewership of college lacrosse, youth lacrosse participation data, U.S. Census population data and the presence of alternative professional sports teams. The league scored prospective hosts with projections for attendance, venues, corporate partnerships and fan experience.

Eight of the target markets — Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Columbus, Dallas, Denver and New York — have existing Major League Lacrosse franchises. The PLL’s six teams will consist largely of former MLL players who left the league to join PLL co-founder Paul Rabil and his brother, Mike, in this new venture.

There’s a mix of hotbeds and emerging lacrosse markets on the current list of 30, as well as two Canadian cities.

The list will be pared down to 12 in the coming weeks. Paul Rabil told US Lacrosse Magazine in October that the PLL liked the potential of playing in modern venues built for Major League Soccer, many of which are built for the modern fan experience.

Fourteen of the 30 finalists — Chicago, Columbus, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Portland, Salt Lake City, Toronto and Washington, D.C. — feature MLS-specific stadiums either in the city itself or within a 30-mile radius of the city center.

The PLL, which is headquartered in Los Angeles and also has offices in New York, will descend upon two of the cities twice as part of its 14-week tour starting June 1, which includes all-star and championship weekends.

PLL Host City Finalists

Albany, N.Y.
Buffalo, N.Y.
Charlotte, N.C.
Columbus, Ohio
Hartford, Conn.
Los Angeles
New York
Orlando, Fla.
Portland, Ore.
Providence, R.I.
Raleigh, N.C.
Richmond, Va.
Salt Lake City, Utah
San Francisco
St. Louis
Toronto, Ont.
Vancouver, B.C.
Washington, D.C.

Most Recent

ESPN Went All-In on Lacrosse in 2022

The "Worldwide Leader in Sports" is now the worldwide leader in lacrosse.

16 Reasons to Watch the NLL in 2022-23

The NLL season is upon us. Here's why you should be paying close attention to the box.

Jeremy Thompson Reunites with Lyle, Miles on Georgia Swarm

The three brothers have never played on the same NLL team.

NLL, ESPN Announce 10 Linear Games for 2022-23 Regular Season

The linear slate will feature games on ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPNews.

Twitter Posts