PLL Unveils Names, Logos for Six Inaugural Teams

The Premier Lacrosse League announced Tuesday the names and logos of its six inaugural teams that will take the field in June – the Archers, Atlas, Chaos, Chrome, Redwoods and Whipsnakes

Each team's identity was determined by a thorough creative process league founder Paul Rabil called "imaginative," according to an exclusive with Sports Illustrated. Given the PLL's tour-based model, it was inspired by soccer clubs around the world, linking fans to the team itself rather than a specific location.

“With only six teams, if we tie them to cities, we become hyper-localized," Rabil told Sports Illustrated. "To be tour-based and to become ‘national’ overnight meant creating team names that don’t associate with a specific city. That is pretty abstract for how team names are traditionally created. We knew we were going to have to get creative and think about it in a different way. When we thought about building our organization, we wanted to build and brand lacrosse clubs.”


"Of precision and craft. Regal and of age. Meticulous. A sharp shot and bullseye assist."


"Of power and authority. Built with size, strength and speed. The hustle of triumph."


"Of passion and sting. With unseed intensity. A tremendous souce of energy."


"Of strength and flair. With rigid allow, yet light and swift. Do not go gentle."


"A grounding force. Taking action and leadership. Both feared and admired."


"Of motion and venom. Lightning fast and terrifying. With high maneuverability and cod."

Most Recent

All About the Vibe: Authenticity, Brand-Building Keys for PLL Athletes

The PLL puts an emphasis on showcasing the untold stories of its athletes.

Dhane Smith Earns Second NLL MVP Award

The NLL also announced its All-League and All-Rookie teams on Thursday.

Panic Never Set in for Resilient NLL Champion Mammoth

Despite losing its top two scoring options, Colorado bested Buffalo in the NLL Finals.

Vancouver Warriors Tab Troy Cordingley as Next Head Coach

Phil Sanderson also joins the staff, with three other coaches being retained.

Twitter Posts