Jeff Teat Selected No. 1 Overall by Atlas LC in 2021 PLL College Draft


It came as a surprise to some, but not a surprise to those closest to Cornell.

Atlas LC head coach Ben Rubeor selected attackman Jeff Teat with the first overall pick in the Premier Lacrosse League College Draft Monday night, a move likely to make Teat one of the focal points of a club looking to rebuild and retool this summer.

Although Teat has not played a collegiate game since March 8, 2020, the prolific offensive player from Brampton, Ontario, has been popular at the top of draft boards. The New York Riptide also selected Teat first overall in the NLL College Draft last September.

Rubeor used his first three selections — Nos. 1, 8 and 10 — to rebuild some of that offense that was lost during the offseason through separate trades of Paul Rabil, Ryan Brown and Rob Pannell. At No. 8, the Atlas took Dox Aitken, the highest scoring midfielder in Virginia history. At No. 10, Georgetown attackman Jake Carraway was the pick.

Elsewhere, the Waterdogs capitalized on the Teat selection to take Duke superstar Michael Sowers. Another Duke All-American went No. 3, as JT Giles-Harris was selected by Chrome LC head coach Tim Soudan.

Jared Bernhardt, a possibility at No. 1 overall until news of his interest in pursuing Division II football again this upcoming fall, went No. 19 overall to Andy Towers and Chaos LC — a selection Towers intimated was because Jeff Trainor (UMass) was selected the pick before by Archers LC head coach Chris Bates. Should Bernhardt play football, Chaos LC will retain his rights.

Check out the full draft results below.

Premier Lacrosse League
2021 College Draft Results






1 Atlas Jeff Teat A Cornell
2 Waterdogs Michael Sowers A Duke
3 Chrome JT Giles-Harris D Duke
4 Redwoods TD Ierlan FO Denver
5 Archers Jared Conners LSM Virginia
6 Chaos Mac O'Keefe A Penn State
7 Whipsnakes Connor Kirst M Rutgers
8 Atlas Dox Aitken M Virginia
9 Cannons Jack Kielty D Notre Dame
10 Atlas Jake Carraway A Georgetown
11 Atlas Danny Logan SSDM Denver
12 Chrome Ryan Terefenko SSDM Ohio State
13 Archers Tre Leclaire A/M Ohio State
14 Chaos Kyle Gallagher FO Notre Dame
15 Chaos Tanner Cook M North Carolina
16 Whipsnakes Ryan Tierney A Hofstra
17 Atlas Peter Dearth SSDM Syracuse
18 Archers* Jeff Trainor M UMass
19 Chaos Jared Bernhardt A Maryland
20 Chrome Justin Anderson M North Carolina
21 Archers Conor Gaffney FO Lehigh
22 Chaos Kyle Thornton D Notre Dame
23 Whipsnakes Colin Squires D Denver
24 Redwoods Charlie Bertrand A Virginia
25 Cannons Stephen Rehfuss A Syracuse
26 Atlas Gerard Arceri FO Penn State
27 Waterdogs Ethan Walker A Denver
28 Chrome Jackson Morrill A Denver
29 Redwoods Jamie Trimboli M Syracuse
30 Chaos Ryan Smith A Robert Morris
31 Whipsnakes Nick Grill D Maryland
32 Redwoods Charlie Leonard FO Notre Dame

* via trade with Waterdogs for Eli Gobrecht

Most Recent

Tips from the C-Suite: Ian Garrison's 5 Keys to Officiating Box Lacrosse

From the May/June edition, NLL crew chief Ian Garrison dives into the basics of reffing box.

Chaos LSM Ian MacKay Returns Value on Connor Fields Trade

The versatile midfielder "checked a lot of boxes" for Chaos LC. Now we see why.

Why Don't More Pros Wear Pads? Matt Dunn Bucks Trend with Chest Protection

After what he called the scariest moment of his life, Dunn suited up and spoke out.

Wayne Gretzky Throws BTBs with Joe Tsai During NLL's Vegas Unveiling

Gretzky and Tsai were in Las Vegas for an event introducing the owners of the NLL's 15th team.

Twitter Posts