Thomas McConvey Selected First Overall in 2022 NLL Entry Draft


Thomas McConvey was the America East's player of the year in 2022.

Thomas McConvey, a Vermont graduate readying to play a fifth NCAA season at Virginia, was selected first overall by the Rochester Knighthawks in the 2022 NLL Entry Draft Saturday afternoon.

Rochester also took the opportunity to announce its new jerseys during the draft, with McConvey — who hails from Toronto, Ontario — showcasing the new threads.

A forward who plays midfield in field lacrosse, McConvey was one of the top players in the America East during his time at Vermont. He started 49 of the 52 games he appeared in, scoring 127 goals with 47 assists while picking up 48 ground balls. He was the conference player of the year in 2022 and a USILA and USA Lacrosse Magazine All-American honorable mention.

McConvey was a captain for Team Canada in the World Lacrosse Men's U21 Championship in Limerick, Ireland, this summer, helping the Canadians earn a silver medal. He also played in the Ontario Jr. A Lacrosse League with the Mimico Mountaineers.

Elsewhere in the first round, four players from Robert Morris University were selected (Will Johansen, seventh; Owen Down, 15th; Colton Lidstone, 21st; Taggart Clark, 23rd). The University of Delaware was close behind with three players taken in the opening round (Owen Grant, third; Tye Kurtz, 17th; Jake Govett, 22nd).

For full coverage of the NLL Entry Draft, follow this link for live results.


1. Rochester (from Las Vegas) — Thomas McConvey, Virginia
2. Las Vegas (from Rochester) — Dylan Watson, Jacksonville
3. Vancouver — Owen Grant, Delaware
4. Albany (from New York) — Alex Simmons, Denver/Syracuse
5. Panther City — Jason Knox, Ohio State
6. Saskatchewan — Austin Madronic, Harvard
7. Albany (from Georgia) — Will Johansen, Robert Morris
8. New York (from Philadelphia via Albany) — Zack Deaken, Jacksonville
9. Panther City (from Albany via Halifax) — Mathieu Gautier, Edmonton Miners
10. Calgary — Seth Van Schepen, Siena
11. Georgia (from San Diego) — Brett Dobson, St. Bonaventure
12. Halifax — WakeRiat Bowhunter, Jacksonville
13. Buffalo (from Toronto) — Cam Wyers, Loyola
14. Buffalo — Dylan Robinson, Toronto Beaches
15. Colorado — Owen Down, Robert Morris
16. Las Vegas (additional compensatory selection) — Jacob Saunders, Richmond
17. Albany (compensatory selection) — Tye Kurtz, Delaware
18. Rochester (from Calgary via Las Vegas; compensatory selection)* — Austin Hasen, Belmont Abbey
19. Buffalo (compensatory selection) — Zach Belter, St. Bonaventure
20. Georgia (compensatory selection) — Brady Kearnan, Mercy
21. Panther City (from Albany) — Colton Lidstone, Robert Morris
22. San Diego (compensatory selection) — Jake Govett, Delaware
23. Philadelphia (from Saskatchewan; compensatory selection) — Taggart Clark, Robert Morris

* Las Vegas trades the No. 18 selection to Rochester in exchange for Joel Watson and a 2024 second-round selection.


Most Recent

Calgary's Christian Del Bianco Named National Lacrosse League MVP

Del Bianco is just the second goalie in league history to earn the top honor.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Cannons LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Cannons LC.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Atlas LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Atlas LC.

Premier Lacrosse League Assigning Home Cities for 2024 Season

The PLL announced the major shift in strategy on Thursday.

Twitter Posts