Jeff Teat Selected No. 1 Overall by New York Riptide in NLL Entry Draft


Aside from a technical hiccup here or there, the National Lacrosse League succeeded in holding its virtual draft Thursday night. While most any draft comes with surprises, the New York Riptide made the expected move at No. 1.

The Riptide — owners of the No. 1 selection for the second year in a row — chose Jeff Teat (Cornell) with the top choice. The Riptide will maintain his rights as he plays one final year at Cornell in 2021, taking advantage of the extra year of eligibility granted by the NCAA in the wake of the COVID-shortened 2020 season.

Teat was the gem of this draft and long considered the consensus top pick. He led the Big Red in both assists and points for the fourth straight season in 2020, leading them to a 5-0 record before the season came to a halt.

The first five picks of the draft — Reid Bowering, Vancouver; Ryan Smith, Rochester; Tre Leclaire, San Diego; and Tanner Cook, Calgary — will return to their respective schools for a final season in 2021, meaning none will have an NLL impact during the upcoming season.

Robert Hudson, the No. 6 pick by Georgia, was the first player selected who will be able to play next season. The Vermont graduate produced 50 goals and 21 assists with the Catamounts.

Mac O'Keefe (Penn State) became the first American drafted when he went No. 15 overall to the San Diego Seals. Michael Sowers, the likely Tewaaraton winner had the 2020 season continued on, was taken by the New England Black Wolves at No. 41.

For the full draft results, continue below.

National Lacrosse League
Entry Draft Results






1 Riptide Jeff Teat F Cornell/Brampton
2 Warriors Reid Bowering D/T Drexel/Coquitlam 
3 Knighthawks Ryan Smith F Robert Morris/Oakville
4 Seals Tre Leclaire F Ohio State/New Westminster
5 Roughnecks Tanner Cook F North Carolina/Whitby
6 Swarm Robert Hudson D Vermont/Brampton
7 Rush Marshall Powless F Six Nations
8 Swarm Jeff Henrick D/T Ohio/Orangeville
9 Bandits Brad McCulley F Robert Morris/Langley
10 Swarm Ethan Walker F Denver/Peterborough
11 Thunderbirds Ethan Riggs D Burlington
12 Rush Connor McClelland D Marquette/Brampton
13 Swarm Laine Hruska G Saskatchewan
14 Roughnecks Harrison Matsuoka D/T Stony Brook/Okopoks
15 Seals Mac O'Keefe F Penn State/Orangeville
16 Wings Jackson Suboch D UMass/Brooklin
17 Riptide Mathieu Boissonneault D Canisius/Whitby
18 Colorado Ron John F Albant/Six Nations
19 Bandits Sam La Roue F New Westminster
20 Roughnecks Ethan Ticehurst T Towson/Coquitlam
21 Roughnecks Patrick Dodds F Victoria
22 Mammoth Brett McIntyre F UMBC/Okotoks
23 Bandits Jordan Stouros D Limestone/Peterborough
24 Black Wolves Charlie Kitchen F Delaware/Toronto
25 Riptide Ty Thompson F Hartford/Nepean
26 Rush Bobby Kidd T Young Harris/Langley
27 Thunderbirds Ryan Terefenko F Ohio State
28 Mammoth Jordan Trottier D RIT/New Westminster
29 Riptide Andrew Borgatti D Kitchener-Waterloo
30 Rock TD Ierlan T Yale
31 Mammoth Jalen Chaster D Coquitlam
32 Roughnecks Justin Geddie G Nanaimo
33 Mammoth Tyler Sceviour D RIT
34 Wings Bryan Costabile T/F Notre Dame/Atlas LC
35 Wings Dylan Foulds F Penn State/Port Coquitlam
36 Riptide Larson Sundown F Limestone/Victoria
37 Roughnecks Rhys Blake D Port Coquitlam
38 Knighthawks Kevin Owen Hill T Six Nations
39 Swarm Sam Firth F Nepean
40 Mammoth Curtis Conley T Toronto
41 Black Wolves Michael Sowers F Princeton
42 Mammoth Pat Aslanian D Notre Dame
43 Rush Clark Walter F Limestone/Port Coquitlam
44 Warriors Adam Kromer D Whitby
45 Knighthawks Jared Conners D Virginia
46 Rock Phil Mazzuca D Oakville
47 Thunderbirds Matt Gaudet F Yale/Chrome LC
48 Thunderbirds Owen Friesen D St. Catharine's
49 Warriors Matteo Tack G Coquitlam
50 Seals Danny Logan D Denver
51 Wings Ben French F Vermont/Cobourg
52 Mammoth Peter Dearth D Syracuse
53. Riptide Kris Veltman T West Durham
54. Knighthawks Mitch Ogilvie T Peterborough
55. Warriors Isaac Bott D UMass/Calgary
56. Seals Robert Stovel D Providence/Brampton
57. Warriors Jonah Boehm A KW
58. Mammoth Nate Faccin G Coquitlam
59. Wings Marc Pion D Johns Hopkins
60. Swarm Tanner Buck F Orangeville
61. Wings Jack Rapine D Johns Hopkins
62. Rock Chris Weier D Niagara
63. Roughnecks Brody McLean F Towson/KW
64. Rush Kelson Borisenko F/T Manhattan/Manitoba
65. Black Wolves Grant Ament F Penn State/Archers LC
66. Mammoth Jared Bernhardt F Maryland
67. Rock Curtis Romanchych D Orangeville
68. Seals Dox Aitken F Virginia
69. Warriors Cody Arseneault D Calgary
70. Knighthawks John Vezina D Brampton
71. Seals Jakob Patterson F Albany
72. Roughnecks Jackson Morrill F Denver
73. Bandits Tye Argent F Six Nations
74. Wings John Kit D St. Catharines
75. Swarm Miles Silva F Army
76. Bandits Dalton Sulver T High Point
77. Rock Scott Del Zotto F UMass/Burlington
78. Thunderbirds Dustin Hill G Six Nations
79. Rush Erik Maas F New Westminster
80. Black Wolves Nick Ellerton D Boston U/Toronto
81. Riptide Dawson Tait F RIT/Nepean
82. Riptide Ryan Tierney F Hofstra
83. Warriors Brendan Szabo D Delta
84. Seals Troy Loper F Cleveland State/Gold Miners
85. Wings Cole Williams F Johns Hopkins
86. Mammoth Sam LeClair F St. Catharines
87. Roughnecks Laszlo Henning F North Carolina/Burnaby
88. Swarm Reece Eddy D Boston U/Chrome LC
89. Bandits Carter Stefaniak T Canisius
90. Rock Daniel Balawejder D Canisius/Mimico
91. Thunderbirds Brett Draper F Dartmouth
92. Rush Wyatt Haux T Saskatchewan
93. Black Wolves Jeremy Bomberry F Six Nations

Most Recent

PLL Week 1: Must-See Goals, One-Goal Games Mean Summer is Here

There were enough highlight-reel goals for an entire summer just in Week 1.

'Banditland, Man!' Buffalo Back on Top of NLL After Game 3 Win

The Bandits routed Colorado 13-4 to win the NLL Finals on Saturday night.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Whipsnakes LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Whipsnakes LC.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Waterdogs LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Waterdogs LC.

Twitter Posts