Calgary's Christian Del Bianco Named National Lacrosse League MVP


Calgary Roughnecks goaltender Christian Del Bianco was named the 2022-23 National Lacrosse League MVP on Friday, becoming just the second goalie to take home the league’s top individual honor.

Del Bianco, 25, set an NLL record with 1,080:19 minutes played this season and finished the season with a 13-5 record, leading the Roughnecks to a franchise-high 13 wins. He joins Buffalo’s Steve Dietrich (2006) as the only goalies ever to be named NLL MVP and is just the third non-forward to win the award since its 1994 inception. (Jeff Shattler, a transition player for the Roughnecks, won it in 2011.)

Del Bianco (415 points) edged 2021-22 NLL MVP Dhane Smith (358) and NLL leading scorer Jeff Teat (323) in voting.

In the NLL Rookie of the Year race, Panther City Lacrosse Club forward Jonathan Donville (543 points) beat out Brett Dobson (356) and Jack Hannah (356) for the honor.



Dhane Smith, Buffalo, F
Jeff Teat, New York, F
Zach Currier, Calgary, T
Latrell Harris, Toronto, D
Graeme Hossack, Halifax, D
Christian Del Bianco, Calgary, G


Connor Fields, Rochester, F
Tom Schreiber, Toronto, F
Challen Rogers, Toronto, T
Brad Kri, Toronto, D
Steve Priolo, Buffalo, D
Nick Rose, Toronto, G


Jake Boudreau, Saskatchewan, D
Brett Dobson, Georgia, G
Jonathan Donville, Panther City, F
Jack Hannah, Las Vegas, F
Danny Logan, San Diego, T
John Piatelli, Albany, F


2023 – Christian Del Bianco, Calgary Roughnecks
2022 – Dhane Smith, Buffalo Bandits
2020 – Shayne Jackson, Georgia Swarm
2019 – Dane Dobbie, Calgary Roughnecks
2018 – Mark Matthews, Saskatchewan Rush
2017 – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
2016 – Dhane Smith, Buffalo Bandits
2015 – Shawn Evans, Calgary Roughnecks
2014 – Cody Jamieson, Rochester Knighthawks
2013 – Shawn Evans, Calgary Roughnecks
2012 – John Grant Jr., Colorado Mammoth
2011 – Jeff Shattler, Calgary Roughnecks
2010 – Casey Powell, Orlando Titans
2009 – Dan Dawson, Boston Blazers
2008 – Athan Iannucci, Philadelphia Wings
2007 – John Grant Jr., Rochester Knighthawks
2006 – Steve Dietrich, Buffalo Bandits
2005 – Colin Doyle, Toronto Rock
2004 – Jim Veltman, Toronto Rock
2003 – Gary Gait, Colorado Mammoth
2002 – Paul Gait, Washington Power
2001 – John Tavares, Buffalo Bandits
2000 – John Tavares, Buffalo Bandits
1999 – Gary Gait, Baltimore Thunder
1998 – Gary Gait, Baltimore Thunder
1997 – Gary Gait, Philadelphia Wings
1996 – Gary Gait, Philadelphia Wings
1995 – Gary Gait, Philadelphia Wings
1994 – John Tavares, Buffalo Bandits


2023 – Jonathan Donville, Panther City Lacrosse Club
2022 – Jeff Teat, New York Riptide
2020 – Tyson Gibson, New York Riptide
2019 – Austin Staats, San Diego Seals
2018 – Jake Withers, Rochester Knighthawks
2017 – Tom Schreiber, Toronto Rock
2016 – Randy Staats, Georgia Swarm
2015 – Ben McIntosh, Edmonton Rush
2014 – Logan Schuss, Minnesota Swarm
2013 – Mark Matthews, Edmonton Rush
2012 – Adam Jones, Colorado Mammoth
2011 – Curtis Dickson, Calgary Roughnecks
2010 – Stephan Leblanc, Toronto Rock
2009 – Rhys Duch, San Jose Stealth
2008 – Craig Point, Minnesota Swarm
2007 – Ryan Benesch, Toronto Rock
2006 – Brodie Merrill, Portland LumberJax
2005 – Ryan Boyle, San Jose Stealth
2004 – Taylor Wray, Calgary Roughnecks
2003 – Brian Langtry, Colorado Mammoth
2002 – Blaine Manning, Toronto Rock
2001 – Tracey Kelusky, Columbus Landsharks
2000 – John Grant Jr., Rochester Knighthawks
1999 – Jesse Hubbard, Baltimore Thunder
1998 – Colin Doyle, Ontario Raiders
1997 – Jeff Wilfong, Boston Blazers
1996 – Darren Fridge, Boston Blazers
1995 – Charlie Lockwood, New York Saints
1994 – Tom Marachek – Philadelphia Wings
1993 – No award given
1992 – Derek Keenan, Buffalo Bandits
1991 – Gary Gait, Detroit Turbos

Most Recent

Bandits, Mammoth Set for Winner-Take-All Game 3

Just like a season ago, it comes down to Game 3 in Buffalo.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Chrome LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Chrome LC.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Chaos LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Chaos LC.

Calgary's Christian Del Bianco Named National Lacrosse League MVP

Del Bianco is just the second goalie in league history to earn the top honor.

Twitter Posts