Major League Lacrosse Team Preview: Denver Outlaws


Mikie Schlosser is Denver’s offensive initiator.

Though no date has been set for the beginning of the 2020 Major League Lacrosse season due to the COVID-19 pandemic, several coaches expressed to US Lacrosse Magazine prior to the collegiate draft that a July 4 start could be feasible.

Through the end of this week, US Lacrosse Magazine will release previews for each of the six teams, going alphabetically by city. Check back each day to learn about another team.

These previews appeared in the May/June edition of US Lacrosse Magazine. Don't get the mag? Subscribe today.

MLL Team Previews

Boston Cannons
Chesapeake Bayhawks
Connecticut Hammerheads
Denver Outlaws
New York Lizards
Philadelphia Barrage

Denver Outlaws

2019 regular season record: 9-7
Last seen: Lost in MLL championship game​

MVP Watch
Mikie Schlosser

No, he was not the team’s top scorer. He wasn’t even in the top five in points on the Outlaws roster. It was evident, however, how important Schlosser was to the Outlaws when he missed four games due to a nagging injury.

In the games Schlosser missed, Denver went 1-3. Schlosser is Denver’s offensive initiator, starting plays by drawing a slide and getting the defense out of position, which gets his teammates favorable looks. He is also active in transition and getting back on defense.

During the 2019 season, Outlaws faceoff specialist Max Adler and new team president Matt Bocklet both said that Schlosser is an offensive playmaker and the leader of the squad.

Under the Radar
Ryan Lee

Seven Outlaws were selected to the 2019 MLL All-Star Game, but Ryan Lee wasn’t one of them. It’s a glaring omission because Lee led the team in points (46) and goals (38). An offensive force, Lee scored at least four goals in five of the 11 games he played and had at least four points in eight games.

Lee didn’t shy away on the biggest stage, either. He scored three goals in the MLL championship game.


Tim Barber (M), Zach Currier (M), Matt Gilray (LSM), Eli Gobrecht (D), Kyle Marr (A), Finn Sullivan (D), Dillon Ward (G)


James Burr (A), Colton Jackson (M), Brian Kormondy (M), Sean Mayle (LSM), Nate Siekierski (G), Miles Silva (A)



@milessilva4 has officially agreed to terms and will play with the Outlaws #LetsRide

A post shared by Denver Outlaws (@denveroutlaws) on

Burning question
How does the team respond to the 2019 championship game loss?

In a press release issued by the league, Outlaws general manager Jon Cohen said, “The locker room is extremely salty as a result of the championship game.”

Denver should never be counted out, especially an Outlaws squad with a chip on its collective shoulder, but several key players — Dillon Ward, Zach Currier, Finn Sullivan and Eli Gobrecht — all moved to the Premier Lacrosse League for the upcoming summer, leaving behind several large holes to fill.

Most Recent

NLL Power Rankings: Week of Upsets Puts Seals Back on Top

Three of the teams in last week's top four lost, opening the top spot for San Diego.

Take Me Back: Underdog Stories with Lauren Gilbert and Kate Ratanaproeksa

"Take Me Back" pairs pro players with up-and-comers from the stars' hometowns.

NLL Power Rankings: Tiers Solidifying as Playoff Pushes Continue

The top five teams seem to be emerging as the clear favorites this season.

PLL Free Agency Tracker: Updates on League's Biggest Signings

Eighty-eight players have embarked on the first-ever PLL free agency period.

Twitter Posts