Cockerton, Currier, Thompson Named MLL MVP Finalists


Do-everything midfielder Zach Currier has 36 points and 47 ground balls for the Denver Outlaws. He's one of three finalists for MLL MVP honors.

Boston’s Mark Cockerton, Denver’s Zach Currier and Chesapeake’s Lyle Thompson are finalists for the Major League Lacrosse MVP award, the league announced Monday.

For the first time this season, MLL included fan voting as part of its selection process for six awards: MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Goalie of the Year, Coach of the Year and Rookie of the Year. The finalists for each of the categories for which fans were eligible to vote are listed below.

The winners will be announced at the MLL Honors ceremony Oct. 5 at Union Station in Denver, part of the league’s championship weekend. Fan voting ended Sept. 20. MLL coaches and general managers also will vote for their selections.

Finalists for the Man of the Year and Players Choice awards will be announced later this week.

Most Valuable Player

Mark Cockerton, Boston Cannons
Zach Currier, Denver Outlaws
Lyle Thompson, Chesapeake Bayhawks​

Offensive Player of the Year

Mark Cockerton, Boston Cannons
Randy Staats, Atlanta Blaze
Lyle Thompson, Chesapeake Bayhawks​

Defensive Player of the Year

Liam Byrnes, Atlanta Blaze
Ryland Rees, Boston Cannons
Finn Sullivan, Denver Outlaws

Goalie of the Year

Chris Madalon, Atlanta Blaze
Sean Sconone, Dallas Rattlers
Dillon Ward, Denver Outlaws

Coach of the Year

Dave Cottle, Chesapeake Bayhawks​
Sean Quirk, Boston Cannons
Tony Seaman, Denver Outlaws

Rookie of the Year

Chris Aslanian, Denver Outlaws
Justin Pugal, Boston Cannons
Alex Woodall, Atlanta Blaze

Most Recent

Calgary's Christian Del Bianco Named National Lacrosse League MVP

Del Bianco is just the second goalie in league history to earn the top honor.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Cannons LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Cannons LC.

2023 Premier Lacrosse League Preview: Atlas LC

We're going team by team before the June 3 opener. Today, it's Atlas LC.

Premier Lacrosse League Assigning Home Cities for 2024 Season

The PLL announced the major shift in strategy on Thursday.

Twitter Posts