Adler, Costabile, Goodrich Named MLL Specialists of the Year


CJ Costabile totaled 14 ground balls in five games this season.

On Monday, the Major League Lacrosse awards rollout continued by honoring the league's specialists of the year.

Max Adler of the Denver Outlaws was named the Aryse Faceoff Specialist of the Year, Zach Goodrich of the Boston Cannons — already named the MLL Defensive Player of the Year — added to his trophy case as the True SSDM of the Year, and CJ Costabile of the Chesapeake Bayhawks was named the Signature LSM of the Year.

Other MLL Award Winners

Coach of the Year: Sean Quirk
Rookie of the Year: Daniel Bucaro
Goalie of the Year: Sean Sconone
Defensive Player of the Year: Zach Goodrich
Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Lee

Adler played in four of five games during the COVID-shortened season, winning 62.5 percent of his faceoffs. He also contributed 28 ground balls, two goals and one assist. He won 14 of 25 faceoffs in the MLL championship game, a 13-10 loss to the Cannons.

Goodrich didn't post the gaudy numbers one might expect from an award winner, but his impact went beyond the stat sheet. He did contribute nine ground balls and three caused turnovers in five games, but he flexed his "blue-collar" mentality by taking on opposing attackmen and helping Boston top Denver in the title game.

Costabile was a force, totaling 14 ground balls, three goals and two assists for Chesapeake. He also caused one turnover and went 4-for-10 on faceoffs.

Most Recent

Take Me Back: Goalie Talk With Brian Phipps and Brody Fuller

Fuller, one of Phipps' pupils, grills his goalie coach on life and lacrosse.

Knighthawks Answer Latest Test, Beat Bandits to Stay No. 1

Rochester is 6-0 and continues to answer every question thrown its way.

Steven DeNapoli Retires from Professional Lacrosse On Top

One-time U.S. team selection won 2022 PLL championship with Waterdogs LC.

Surprise! Rochester the NLL's Last Unbeaten, Holds Firm at No. 1

The second iteration of the K-Hawks have already set a franchise season wins record.

Twitter Posts