Brine/USL High School Girls' Players of the Week (June 5)


The Brine/US Lacrosse Players of the Week are named each Tuesday to recognize the most outstanding individual performances in high school girls’ lacrosse in each of the five regions — Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Midwest and West — outlined in our high school coverage.


Grace Tauckus, Cold Spring Harbor (N.Y.)

Tauckus netted the winner with 2:08 left in the second overtime to lift the Seahawks to a 13-12 win over Mount Sinai (N.Y.) in the Long Island Class C title game (state quarterfinals). Mount Sinai had won the past three Class C state titles. Tauckus finished with four goals, all of which came in the second half or overtime. She had three goals and one assist in a 17-4 win over Wantagh (N.Y.) in the Nassau Class C title game. Tauckus now has 36 goals and eight assists this season.

Also notable: Samantha Blair, West Islip (N.Y.); Grace Gately, Manhasset (N.Y.); Meaghan Tyrrell, Mount Sinai (N.Y.)

— Will Cleveland


Robin Panzarella, Moorestown (N.J.)

The senior had two lights-out performances last week to lead Moorestown to its first Group championship since 2015. In the Group 3 semifinals, she totaled seven points on five goals and two assists to lead the Quakers past Allentown (N.J.). She followed that up with a four-point performance against Summit (N.J.) in the championship game, a 7-6 victory. On the year, the Pennsylvania commit has 71 points on 52 goals and 19 assists.

Also notable: Hannah Davis, James Robinson (Va.); Kendall Duffy, Wilson (Pa.); Katie Kelly, Oak Knoll (N.J.); Olivia Little, Springfield-Delco (Pa.); Jamie McCormick, Haddonfield (N.J.); Maddie Medve, Villa Maria Academy (Pa.); Molly May, Radnor (Pa.); Marley Scala, Ridgewood (N.J.).

— Mike Loveday


Jessica Joy, Hinsdale Central (Ill.)

The sophomore played a significant role in two stunning upsets last week to lead the Red Devils to a state title. Joy scored four goals in an 8-5 win over perennial Midwest leader Loyola Academy (Ill.) in the semifinals, and she then scored four times against New Trier (Ill.) in the title game.

Also notable: Maggie Brown, Eden Prairie (Minn.); Kelly Csenar, Carmel (Ind.); Brooklyn Neumen , Rockford (Mich.); Brooke Smith, Upper Arlington (Ohio)

— Justin Boggs

Most Recent

Wisconsin Votes to Sanction Boys' and Girls' Lacrosse as Official High School Sport

After vote approved today, state will begin championships in 2023-24 school year.

Building a Sisterhood is Core Mission for Nation United

Nation United is committed to showcasing diverse, elite lacrosse talent.

High School and Youth Boys’ Rules Changes Announced for 2023 Season

New stick specifications highlight changes made to the rules for the upcoming season.

Hansen, Oyler Are 2022 Breschi Scholarship Winners

The scholarships are awarded annually to two high school seniors who plan to attend college.

Twitter Posts