USA Lacrosse High School Boys' Players of the Week


The final shot of Grayson Moniz's sophomore season proved to be the biggest goal of his young life.

The USA Lacrosse Players of the Week recognize the most outstanding individual performances in high school boys’ lacrosse in each of the five regions — Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Midwest and West — outlined in our high school coverage. The South Region has completed its season.


Grayson Moniz, Weston (Conn.)

The final shot of his sophomore season proved to be the biggest goal of Moniz’s young life. Moniz’s fifth shot of the game resulted in his lone goal, but it was the state championship clincher as Weston defeated Daniel Hand (Conn.) 5-4 to win the CIAC Class M title.

The goal, a bouncer with 26.9 seconds remaining in overtime, handed Weston its first Class M title. Previously, the Trojans had won three Class S titles and lost in its only other Class M final appearance in 2019.

“I’ve seen Grayson making these plays since seventh grade; given his speed, it’s no surprise for him to win that foot race,” Weston coach Josh Thornton said. “His goal was the culmination of the entire team’s hard work, and I’m really proud of him making that one last play for all the boys.”

Also notable: Gavin Locascio, Bayport-Blue Point (N.Y.); Ryan Woodland, Farmingdale (N.Y.); AJ Alexander, Syosset (N.Y.); Ryan Colsey, Ridgefield (Conn.); Danny Caddigan, Smithtown West (N.Y.); JP Boreshesky, Sachem North (N.Y.); Cam Tallman, Canandaigua (N.Y.); Ayden Mowry, Penn Yan (N.Y.); Graydon Diamond, Scarsdale (N.Y.); Johnny Hartzell, Rye (N.Y.)

— Dylan Butler


Mac Haley, St. John’s College High (D.C.)

Haley notched a hat trick and added an assist to help St. John’s hold off Georgetown Prep (Md.) 11-10 in the final of the inaugural Washington D.C. Championships on Friday. Haley had four goals and two assists to help the Cadets advance to the final with a 15-7 win over DeMatha (Md.) on June 9. The junior attackman, who has committed to Navy, helped St. John’s finish the season 11-1 with its only loss coming against Taft (Conn.).

Also notable: Ryan Goldstein, Radnor (Pa.); Matt McCrink, Mountain Lakes (N.J.); Charlie Reynolds, Marriotts Ridge (Md.); Max Thomas, Don Bosco (N.J.); Evan Whatley, Glenelg High (Md.); Zach Whittier, Georgetown Prep (Md.)

— Justin Feil

Nike/US Lacrosse High School Rankings
National Boys' Top 25 | National Girls' Top 25
Northeast Boys' Top 10 | Northeast Girls' Top 10
Mid-Atlantic Boys' Top 10 | Mid-Atlantic Girls' Top 10
South Boys' Top 10
| South Girls' Top 10
Midwest Boys' Top 10
| Midwest Girls' Top 10
West Boys' Top 10
| West Girls' Top 10


Ted Campbell, East Grand Rapids (Mich.)

Campbell contributed half of the Pioneers’ 12 goals in a tight state championship game victory over Forest Hills Eastern. Campbell made an immediate impact, scoring two quick goals to give EGR a 2-0 lead. With the Hawks trailing by only a goal at the half, Campbell scored twice more in the third quarter to help the Pioneers establish firm control of the ballgame.

Also notable: Nick Dudley, Brother Rice (Mich.); Bo Lockwood, Hartland (Mich.); Andrew McDonagh, Loyola Academy (Ill.); Jesse Shapiro, New Trier (Ill.)

Jonah Rosenblum


Matteo Silvestri, Loyola Los Angeles (Calif.)

Silvestri played a significant role in helping Loyola win the first CIF Southern Section Division I title, leading the offense with four goals in a 9-7 win against Foothill-Santa Ana (Calif.). Not only did he score almost half his team’s goals, but he also came through in a clutch situation.

After Foothill tied the score with 4:37 left, Silvestri scored his final goal to give the Cubs the lead for good before Owen Gaffney sealed it with an insurance tally.

Also notable: Dakota Johnson, Cherry Creek (Colo.); Jake Likes, Valor Christian (Colo.); Will Miller, St. Ignatius Prep (Calif.)

— Laurel Pfahler

Most Recent

Wisconsin Votes to Sanction Boys' and Girls' Lacrosse as Official High School Sport

After vote approved today, state will begin championships in 2023-24 school year.

Building a Sisterhood is Core Mission for Nation United

Nation United is committed to showcasing diverse, elite lacrosse talent.

High School and Youth Boys’ Rules Changes Announced for 2023 Season

New stick specifications highlight changes made to the rules for the upcoming season.

Hansen, Oyler Are 2022 Breschi Scholarship Winners

The scholarships are awarded annually to two high school seniors who plan to attend college.

Twitter Posts