USA Lacrosse High School Boys' Players of the Week


“Luca Accardo is a once-in-a-lifetime player for any coach at any level,” Syosset coach John Calabria said.

The USA Lacrosse Players of the Week recognize the most outstanding individual performances in high school boys’ lacrosse in each of the five regions — Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Midwest and West — outlined in our high school coverage.

The South Region has concluded play, so this week, we honor the top players from the other four regions.


Luca Accardo, Syosset (N.Y.)

A year ago, Luca Accardo was a FOGO on a senior-laden, star-studded Syosset (N.Y.) team that won the Nassau Class A title. With so many seniors graduating, Accardo was asked to take on a larger role for the Braves this year, both as the guy to win the faceoffs, but also as the leader on the offensive end. 

The High Point-bound senior has answered the bell in a big way and was instrumental for fourth-seeded Syosset in a 6-5 overtime win over top-seeded Massapequa (N.Y.) in the Nassau Class A semifinals at Hofstra’s Shuart Stadium. 

Accardo scored two goals, including the overtime winner, won 10-of-14 faceoffs and had 11 ground balls as Syosset advanced to the county final against Port Washington (N.Y.).  

“Luca Accardo is a once-in-a-lifetime player for any coach at any level,” Syosset coach John Calabria said. “He is a leader on and off the field and has top-notch character.”

Also notable: Colby Baldwin, Scarsdale (N.Y.); Dan Buckley, Irondequoit (N.Y.); Chris Franchini, Pelham (N.Y.); Alec Gregorek, Shoreham-Wading River (N.Y.); Johnny Hartzell, Rye (N.Y.); Michael Meyer, Northport (N.Y.); Brandon Rispoli, Briarcliff (N.Y.)

— Dylan Butler


Eliot Dubick, Winston Churchill (Md.)

The senior attacker scored four goals and had six assists as Winston Churchill (Md.) won its first state title, 15-7, over Broadneck (Md.) in Class 4A. Winston Churchill is the first Montgomery County school to capture a state championship. Dubick’s 10 points tied the state record for points in a 4A title game that was set by Sean Heffernan of Dulaney in 1990.

Dubick, a Maryland commit, had two goals and an assist as Winston Churchill jumped out to a 4-1 lead. Broadneck had allowed just four goals combined in its first two state tournament wins. Dubick finished his season with 72 goals and 93 assists. Churchill went 19-1 under coach Jeff Fritz, who won his 300th career game early in May.

Also notable: Brian Box, Marple Newtown (Pa.); Ryan Goldstein, Radnor (Pa.); Ryan Gregoire, Southern (Md.); Ryan LaRocque, Severna Park (Md.); Jack Sharma, Delbarton (N.J.); Garrett Simi, Southern (Md.)

— Justin Feil


Jack Jenkins, Hudson (Ohio)

Jenkins and the Explorers had one heck of a week, capped by a regional championship win over St. Ignatius (Ohio), thus earning a measure of revenge against a program that had eliminated Hudson from the postseason a number of times in recent years. Jenkins, who leads the Explorers with 86 goals, 40 assists and 126 points, had a key goal just before halftime against the Wildcats after scoring five in a regional semifinal victory over North Canton Hoover (Ohio).

Also notable:  Landon Gelven, MICDS (Mo.); George Herron, MICDS (Mo.); Marek Tzagournis, Dublin Jerome (Ohio)

— Jonah Rosenblum


Ian Thompson, Arapahoe (Colo.)

The junior goalie made 12 saves to help the Warriors to an 8-5 win over Mountain Vista (Colo.) in the CHSAA Class 5A final as they claimed their first state title since 2013. He also had nine saves in an 11-5 win over Poudre (Colo.) in the semifinals and 11 saves in a 6-3 victory over Valor Christian (Colo.) in the quarterfinals. Thompson’s last three games were among his top five save percentages this season.

Also notable: Wyatt Furda, Cheyenne Mountain (Colo.); Finn Hauhuth, Arapahoe (Colo.); Mason Quick, Corner Canyon (Utah)

— Laurel Pfahler

Most Recent

Building a Sisterhood is Core Mission for Nation United

Nation United is committed to showcasing diverse, elite lacrosse talent.

High School and Youth Boys’ Rules Changes Announced for 2023 Season

New stick specifications highlight changes made to the rules for the upcoming season.

Hansen, Oyler Are 2022 Breschi Scholarship Winners

The scholarships are awarded annually to two high school seniors who plan to attend college.

High School and Youth Girls’ Rules Changes Announced for 2023 Season

Modifications to the stick check process is part of the new slate of rules for 2023.

Twitter Posts