USA Lacrosse High School Boys' Players of the Week


Joey Spallina tied a Suffolk County record with 13 assists in a single game last week.

The USA Lacrosse Players of the Week recognize the most outstanding individual performances in high school boys’ lacrosse in each of the five regions — Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Midwest and West — outlined in our high school coverage. The South Region has completed its season.


Joey Spallina, Mount Sinai (N.Y.)

Joey Spallina entered the 2021 season as the top-ranked junior in the country by Inside Lacrosse. The Syracuse commit provided some evidence as to why he’s so deserving of those lofty honors with a record-breaking performance in Mount Sinai’s 16-3 win over Hauppauge.

Spallina had 13 assists, breaking a Suffolk County single-game record. He was one shy of the Long Island and New York State mark set by Garden City’s Bruce Corbridge 60 years ago.

And Spallina didn’t even play in the fourth quarter.

Spallina followed that with three goals and five assists in a 15-5 win over West Islip and two goals and six assists in an 8-6 win over Westhampton.

Also notable: Will Lynch, Chaminade (N.Y.); Henry Dodge, Staples (Conn.); Andrew McAdorey, St. Anthony’s (N.Y.); Ryan Ritch, Dobbs Ferry (N.Y.); Brady Pokorny, Darien (Conn.); Gavin Locascio, Bayport-Blue Point (N.Y.).

— Dylan Butler


Colin McGill, Malvern Prep (Pa.)

McGill recorded 13 points between the Inter-Ac League semifinal and final to help Malvern Prep win its third straight league championship.

The Dartmouth commit led all scorers with four goals and added one assist in a 14-5 win over Haverford (Pa.), one of two teams to beat Malvern in the regular season, in the title game Saturday.

McGill recorded eight points on six goals and two assists in the Friars’ 18-6 win over Germantown Academy (Pa.) in the semifinals Thursday.

Also notable: Luke DiNola, Summit (N.J.); Teddy Flemming, Key School (Md.); Ned Forbush, Friends School (Md.); Caleb Fyock, St. John’s (Md.); Koleton Marquis, Don Bosco (N.J.); Hugh Mullane, Georgetown Prep (D.C.); Ben Smith, Boys’ Latin (Md.)

— Justin Feil

Nike/US Lacrosse High School Rankings
National Boys' Top 25 | National Girls' Top 25
Northeast Boys' Top 10 | Northeast Girls' Top 10
Mid-Atlantic Boys' Top 10 | Mid-Atlantic Girls' Top 10
South Boys' Top 10
| South Girls' Top 10
Midwest Boys' Top 10
| Midwest Girls' Top 10
West Boys' Top 10
| West Girls' Top 10


Johnny Hackett, New Trier (Ill.)

There was no bigger game in Illinois this past week than Loyola-New Trier, and no bigger moment in that contest than Hackett’s game-winner in overtime.

But, that’s not all he contributed. Hackett also scored four of New Trier’s nine goals in a 9-7 win over Lake Forest (Ill.) and had another hat trick against Evanston (Ill.).

Also notable: OJ Morris, Dublin Coffman (Ill.); Carter Jenkins, Hudson (Ohio); Carter Vaillancourt, Hudson (Ohio); Jesse Shapiro, New Trier (Ill.)

Jonah Rosenblum


Jake Reichle, Lakeridge (Ore.)

Reichle played a big role in helping Lakeridge to the de facto state title Saturday, as the Pacers avenged a regular-season loss to Jesuit Portland (Ore.) to win the Metro Area Tourney championship.

Lakeridge trailed by two in the third quarter, but Reichle capped a 4-0 run to end the period by winning a faceoff, racing down field and scoring with six seconds left for an 8-6 advantage the Pacers wouldn’t lose.

Reichle won 11 of 14 faceoffs in the second half of the 11-8 victory.

Also notable: Logan Ip, Corona del Mar (Calif.); Triston Jewell, Mater Dei (Calif.); Jake Ward, Mountain Vista (Colo.)

— Laurel Pfahler

Most Recent

Wisconsin Votes to Sanction Boys' and Girls' Lacrosse as Official High School Sport

After vote approved today, state will begin championships in 2023-24 school year.

Building a Sisterhood is Core Mission for Nation United

Nation United is committed to showcasing diverse, elite lacrosse talent.

High School and Youth Boys’ Rules Changes Announced for 2023 Season

New stick specifications highlight changes made to the rules for the upcoming season.

Hansen, Oyler Are 2022 Breschi Scholarship Winners

The scholarships are awarded annually to two high school seniors who plan to attend college.

Twitter Posts