Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Thursday, August 17

Denver, featuring FlingGolf players Jeremy Sieverts and Michael Simon, is MLL's model for consistency. (PHOTO BY PRETTY INSTANT/ISAIAH DOWNING)

Good morning. Here’s the latest from around the lacrosse world:

1. The Denver Outlaws became the MLL’s model of consistency as they again look to capture the league crown on Saturday after winning it in 2014 and 2016.

Denver has the chance to join the now-defunct Philadelphia Barrage and the Chesapeake Bayhawks as the only teams in league history to win back-to-back titles.

At the core of the team is trust, which isn’t built overnight, writes Phil Shore. In recent years, the Outlaws have been committed to roster consistency. Its seven MLL championship game appearances are the most in league history.

“I’ve never seen anyone come to this organization and not be wowed how everything is run and want to be a part of that culture,” said Eric Law, who was drafted by Denver in 2013. “We missed the playoffs one time. There’s an expectation we’d get there, and after 2014, that we’d also succeed.”

2. Free movement is the biggest change coming to NCAA women’s lacrosse this spring and UMass coach Angela McMahon said “we were probably ready for the change” due to the increased growth in players’ speed, athleticism and strength.

Other rule changes include holding players behind the restraining lines until possession is won off the draw and a goal will count if the shot is released before time expires.

“Our sport is trying to stay as relevant and cutting edge as possible,” said Johns Hopkins coach Janine Tucker. “It’s trying to cater to the athleticism of the athletes today and their lax IQ. We never want to get stagnant.”

3. The WPLL announced Wednesday its five inaugural coaches – Sonia LaMonica (Towson), Amy Patton (formerly Dartmouth), Katie Rowan (Wagner), Shannon Smith (Hofstra) and Cindy Timchal (Navy) – who will lead the Baltimore Brave, New England Command, Upstate Pride, New York Fight and Philadelphia Fire, respectively.

“We are excited to name such a high caliber lineup of coaches for the five inaugural WPLL teams,” said league commissioner Jen Adams. “Each coach brings a wealth of knowledge and a creative style that mirrors the brand of lacrosse that the league will have on display. Moreover, these coaches are extremely committed to the growth of our sport at all levels. We are fortunate to have such strong, motivated leadership across the league and I look forward to working with each of them as we take the WPLL into the future.”

What We’re Reading

What We’re Watching

Denver defenseman Michael Simon released footage of him playing FlingGolf with fellow MLL All-Star Game participants, including Outlaws midfielders Zach Currier and Jeremy Sieverts, in Sacramento, Calif., this past July.

What’s On Tap

  • The 2017 Minto Cup, Canada's Junior A box lacrosse national championship, kicks off today in Brampton, Ontario.

  • The MLL championship game between the Denver Outlaws and Ohio Machine takes place on Saturday. Stay tuned for a preview today.


Most Recent

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Friday, Aug. 5

Weather impacts AU's schedule, PLL goes throwback, more on the U.S. U21 team.

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Thursday, Aug. 4

Lacrosse has moved to the next phase of consideration for the LA28 Olympics.

Report: LA28 Invites Lacrosse to Make Case for Olympic Inclusion

Lacrosse is one of nine sports invited to submit proposals to the organizing committee.

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix For Wednesday, Aug. 3

A new NLL commissioner, NTDP Combine updates, more from Athletes Unlimited.

Twitter Posts