Tewaaraton Names 50 Men and Women to Watch Lists


U.S. national team and USC goalie Gussie Johns, who is featured on the March cover of US Lacrosse Magazine, is among 100 players named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists.

NEW YORK – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2018 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s watch lists. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award.

Among the 2018 watch list returnees are 2017 finalists Marie McCool (UNC), Kylie Ohlmiller (Stony Brook), Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale), Pat Spencer (Loyola).

"Six of ten finalists return and this year, as always, will be a wide open and competitive race for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "The 100 players are deserving of being on our first Tewaaraton Watch Lists of the season. Our selection committees have as broad a field to choose from as we’ve ever had."

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

The 50 men’s and 50 women’s watch list candidates, with school, year and position noted:

Men’s Watch List:

Dox Aitken, Virginia - Soph., Midfield
Dylan Alderman, Hofstra - Sr., Midfield
Grant Ament, Penn State - Jr., Attack
Trevor Baptiste, Denver - Sr., Faceoff
Jared Bernhardt, Maryland - Soph., Attack
Brendan Bomberry, Syracuse - Sr., Attack
Tate Boyce, Providence - Jr., Goalie
Dan Bucaro, Georgetown - Jr., Attack
Morgan Cheek, Harvard - Sr., Attack
Chris Cloutier, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Jack Concannon, Hofstra - Sr., Goalie
Ryan Conrad, Virginia - Jr., Midfield
Brian Corrigan, Marist - Redshirt Senior, Goalie
Bryan Costabile, Notre Dame - Soph., Midfield
Christian Cuccinello, Villanova - Sr., Attack
Connor Fields, Albany - Sr., Attack
Zach Goodrich, Towson - Jr., Midfield
Phil Goss, Brown - Soph., Goalie
Justin Guterding, Duke - Sr., Attack
Jules Heningburg, Rutgers - Sr., Attack
TD Ierlan, Albany - Soph., Faceoff
Chris Keating, Yale - Sr., Defense
Connor Keating, Penn - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Connor Kelly, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Tom Kennedy, Bryant - Sr., Midfield
Tre Leclaire, Ohio State - Soph., Attack
Ian Mackay, Vermont - Sr., Midfield
Simon Mathias, Penn - Jr., Attack
Sean Mayle, Denver - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Nick Mellen, Syracuse - R-Soph., Defense
Brent Noseworthy, Michigan - Jr., Midfield
Isaac Paparo, UMass- Jr., Defense
Ben Randall, Ohio State - Sr., Defense
Casey Rees, Navy - Sr., Midfield
Ryland Rees, Stony Brook - Jr., Defense
Ben Reeves, Yale - Sr., Attack
Will Sands, Bucknell - Sr., Attack
John Sexton, Notre Dame - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Nate Solomon, Syracuse - Jr., Attack
Michael Sowers, Princeton - Soph., Attack
Pat Spencer, Loyola - Jr., Attack
John Surdick, Army - Jr., Defense
David Symmes, Army - Sr., Midfield
Jeff Teat, Cornell - Soph., Attack
Joel Tinney, Hopkins - Sr., Midfield
Greyson Torain, Navy - Jr., Midfield
Kyle Tucker, Salisbury - Sr., Defense
Cade Van Raaphorst, Duke - Jr., Defense
Ethan Walker, Denver - Soph., Attack
Jack Wilson, Boston University - Sr., Attack

Women’s Watch List:

Sam Apuzzo, Boston College - Jr., Attack
Dempsey Arsenault, Boston College - Jr., Midfield
Stephanie Asher, Elon - Sr., Attack
Kasey Behr, Virginia - Sr., Midfield
Julia Braig, Maryland - Jr., Defense
Sarah Brown, Colorado - Sr., Defense
Madison Carter, Penn State - Jr., Attack
Jenna Collins, Navy - Sr., Midfield
Alex Condon, Penn - Sr., Midfield
Olivia Conti, Towson - Soph., Defense
Maddie Crutchfield, Duke - Sr., Midfield
Riley Donahue, Syracuse - Sr., Attack
Kristen Gaudian, James Madison - Sr., Attack
Elizabeth George, Princeton - Jr., Midfield
Samantha Giacolone, Notre Dame - Jr., Goalie
Jen Giles, Maryland - Jr., Midfield
Ela Hazar, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Haley Hicklen, Florida - Jr., Goalie
Maggie Jackson, Virginia - Jr., Midfield
Olivia Jenner, Duke - Jr., Attack
Gussie Johns, USC - Sr., Goalie
Katy Junior, Penn - Jr., Defense
Kenzie Kent, Boston College - Sr., Attack
Emily Kenul, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Attack
Darby Kiernan, Colorado - Sr., Attack
Kelly Larkin, Navy - Soph., Attack
Selena Lasota, Northwestern - Jr., Attack
Nicole Levy, Syracuse - Jr., Attack
Marie McCool, North Carolina - Sr., Midfield
Elizabeth Miller, Boston College - Jr., Defense
Elizabeth Morrison, The College of New Jersey - Sr., Defense
Courtney Murphy, Stony Brook - Redshirt Senior, Attack
Sheila Nesselbush, Northwestern - Sr., Midfield
Katie O’Donnell, Penn State - Sr., Midfield
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook - Sr., Attack
Taryn Ohlmiller, Stony Brook - Soph., Attack
Sydney Pirreca, Florida - Jr., Midfield
Shayna Pirreca, Florida - Sr., Attack
Elena Romesburg, James Madison - Sr., Midfield
Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida - Jr., Attack
Michele Scannell, Adelphi - Sr., Midfield
Caroline Steele, Maryland - Jr., Attack
Camille Sullivan, Princeton - Sr., Midfield
Lydia Sutton, USC - Sr., Defense
Megan Taylor, Maryland - Jr., Goalie
Rachel VanderKolk, Virginia - Sr., Goalie
Taylor VanThof, Loyola - Jr., Midfield
Natalie Wallon, Syracuse - Jr., Midfield
Haley Warden, James Madison - Sr., Midfield
Megan Whittle, Maryland - Sr., Attack

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 22 and April 5. On April 26, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees.

Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 10 and invited to the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 31.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at facebook.com/tewaaraton, twitter.com/tewaaraton and instagram.com/tewaaraton.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.

Most Recent

Three Saves in Seven Seconds: When Brian Ruppel Entered Maryland Lacrosse Lore

Brian Ruppel's recruiting journey started in the Grit Pit. It sounds like what he faced Saturday.

Women's Tewaaraton Stock Watch: New Names Enter 'Next Five' Conversation

A weekly update on the Tewaaraton Award race in women's lacrosse.

Men's Tewaaraton Stock Watch: Could Campbell Make Villanova History?

A weekly update on the Tewaaraton Award race in men's lacrosse.

Taylor's 10: The Positional Player of the Year Discussion

Taylor Cummings riffs on the week that was in WLAX. Presented by Gait Lacrosse.

Twitter Posts