25 Women's Tewaaraton Award Nominees Announced


Izzy Scane has scored 70 goals through Northwestern's 11 games.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the men’s and women’s nominees for the 2021 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, to be announced in three weeks at the conclusion of the regular season. Details on the 2021 Tewaaraton Award Winners announcement will be forthcoming in the next few weeks. 

The men’s award nominees include players from 15 different schools (led by three each from Denver, Duke, and Virginia) and include 2019 Tewaaraton finalists Maryland’s Jared Bernhardt and Duke’s Michael Sowers. In all, seven players return from 2019’s list of nominees. (Due to COVID-19, the Tewaaraton was not awarded in 2020.)

Women’s Tewaaraton Award
Final 25 Nominees





Ali Baiocco Stanford Attack Sr.
Megan Carney Syracuse Attack Jr.
Lizzie Colson Maryland Defense Grad.
Sarah Cooper Syracuse Defense Jr.
Bridget Deehan Notre Dame Goalie Sr.
Olivia Dirks Penn State Midfield Soph.
Annie Dyson Virginia Midfield Jr.
Molly Garrett Michigan Midfield Grad.
Lauren Gilbert Northwestern Attack Sr.
Grace Griffin Maryland Midfield Sr.
Karson Harris Drexel Midfield Sr.
Katie Hoeg North Carolina Attack  Sr.
Maddie Jenner Duke Attack Jr.
Shannon Kavanagh Florida Midfield Sr.
Ally Kennedy Stony Brook Midfield Grad.
Lindsay McKone Northwestern Midfield Grad.
Taylor Moreno North Carolina Goalie Sr.
Charlotte North Boston College Attack Sr.
Jamie Ortega North Carolina Attack Sr.
Livy Rosenzweig Loyola Attack Sr.
Izzy Scane Northwestern Attack Jr.
Emma Trenchard North Carolina Defense Sr.
Cara Trombetta Florida Defense Grad.
Meaghan Tyrrell Syracuse Attack Jr.
Sydney Watson UConn Midfield Sr.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced in early May. The Tewaaraton Award recipients will be chosen after the conclusion of the collegiate lacrosse season.

Check out the last update to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List here.

Most Recent

Kayla Treanor Confident She Can Lead Syracuse to Championship

Syracuse introduced the former All-American as its third head coach Wednesday.

Behind the Whistle: Player Coachability is Underrated

Navy assistant Kelly Devlin hones in on the intangible qualities of recruitable athletes.

Syracuse Tabs Treanor as New Women’s Lacrosse Coach

The Orange have turned to the former four-time All-American as Gary Gait's successor.

Limestone Men's Lacrosse Player Frank Smith Dies

Smith, a redshirt freshman, died suddenly. He played one season with the Saints.

Twitter Posts