Brennan O'Neill Wins 2023 Tewaaraton Award


Brennan O'Neill led Duke to the NCAA title game and led the country with 97 points.

Brennan O’Neill is the recipient of the 2023 Tewaaraton Award in men’s lacrosse, announced Thursday evening in Washington, D.C.

O’Neill was a force for Duke, the NCAA runner-up to Notre Dame, and led the nation with 97 points (55 goals). The bruising junior attacker had 11 goals and six assists in the NCAA tournament.

“You can’t win this award without good teammates, so I have to thank my teammates and coaching staff at Duke.”

Pat Kavanagh (Notre Dame), Connor Shellenberger (Virginia), CJ Kirst (Cornell) and Tucker Dordevic (Georgetown) were the other finalists.

A unicorn with the ball in his stick, O’Neill combines power and finesse as a catalyst. He can initiate from just about anywhere, and good luck stopping him 1-v-1. 

O’Neill is a member of the U.S. men’s national team and won a gold medal last summer with the U.S. U21 team in Limerick, Ireland.


Most Recent

Florida State Adds Women's Lacrosse for 2025-26 Academic Year

Florida State will become the 118th Division I women's program in the country.

Now Cancer-Free, Allison Kwolek Hopes Her Story Inspires Others

Allison Kwolek almost skipped a mammogram appointment that might have saved her life.

Xavier Coach Meg Decker Honored by IWLCA with Kristina Quigley Award

The award honors Kristina Quigley, the former Seton Hill coach.

Wonder No More: Delaney Ott has Made the Jump from WLCA to Division I

The WCLA goalie of the year in 2022 and 2023, Ott is now testing herself at Duke.

Twitter Posts

Get the best and latest from delivered weekly straight to your inbox: