25 Men's Tewaaraton Award Nominees Announced


Jared Bernhardt is a Tewaaraton frontrunner for his performance this season.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the men’s and women’s nominees for the 2021 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, to be announced in three weeks at the conclusion of the regular season. Details on the 2021 Tewaaraton Award Winners announcement will be forthcoming in the next few weeks. 

The men’s award nominees include players from 15 different schools (led by three each from Denver, Duke, and Virginia) and include 2019 Tewaaraton finalists Maryland’s Jared Bernhardt and Duke’s Michael Sowers. In all, seven players return from 2019’s list of nominees. (Due to COVID-19, the Tewaaraton was not awarded in 2020.)

Men’s Tewaaraton Award
Final 25 Nominees





Jared Bernhardt Maryland Attack Sr.
Will Bowen North Carolina Defense Jr.
Jake Carraway Georgetown Attack Grad.
Adam Charalambides Rutgers Attack Grad.
Jared Conners Virginia Defense Sr.
JT Giles-Harris Duke Defense Grad.
Chris Gray North Carolina Attack Sr.
Jack Hannah Denver Midfield Sr.
Pat Kavanagh Notre Dame Attack Soph.
Jack Kielty Notre Dame Defense Grad.
Connor Kirst Rutgers Attack Grad.
Charlie Kitchen Delaware Attack Grad.
Petey LaSalla Virginia Faceoff Jr.
Danny Logan Denver SSDM Grad.
Matt Moore Virginia Attack Sr.
Jackson Morrill Denver Attack Grad.
Brendan Nichtern Army Attack Jr.
Asher Nolting High Point Attack Sr.
Mac O'Keefe Penn State Attack Grad.
Stephen Rehfuss Syracuse Attack R-Sr.
Joe Robertson Duke Attack Sr.
Mike Sisselberger Lehigh Faceoff Jr.
Michael Sowers Duke Attack Grad.
Ryan Tierney Hofstra Attack Sr.
Logan Wisnauskas Maryland Attack Sr.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced in early May. The Tewaaraton Award recipients will be chosen after the conclusion of the collegiate lacrosse season.

Check out the last update to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List here.

Most Recent

Kayla Treanor Confident She Can Lead Syracuse to Championship

Syracuse introduced the former All-American as its third head coach Wednesday.

Behind the Whistle: Player Coachability is Underrated

Navy assistant Kelly Devlin hones in on the intangible qualities of recruitable athletes.

Syracuse Tabs Treanor as New Women’s Lacrosse Coach

The Orange have turned to the former four-time All-American as Gary Gait's successor.

Limestone Men's Lacrosse Player Frank Smith Dies

Smith, a redshirt freshman, died suddenly. He played one season with the Saints.

Twitter Posts